top of page

My three B's to surviving a long-haul flight..

Most people class anything over 6 hours as a long-haul flight.

Soon I’ll be embarking on a 36 hour, 3 connecting flights, long-ass layovers, trip from Brazil to England.

So, I decided in preparation for my journey that I’d share my three B's to surviving a long-haul flight..

BOOK;

I strongly suggest grabbing a good book or two.

Whether it's a romance novel or a celeb auto-biography, something that can hold your interest whilst travelling definitely helps pass those hours.

I'm a big fan of true-crime books and can recommend two of my favourites:

  • Daniel Keyes - The minds of Billy Milligan

  • Philip Carlo - Ice Man: Confessions of a Mafia Contract Killer

As most of you know I am studying Brazilian Portuguese so the book accompanying me this journey is a fun one named 'A casa na arvore com 65 andares' by Andy Griffiths.

I use google to translate the words I'm still learning and scribble my notes at the side of the pages.

BLANKET;

So, planes are definitely not top of the list for comfort. Sitting for numerous hours is bad enough but when most of us don't have the luxury of first-class travel with extra leg room or a reclining seat it just adds insult to injury. Taking a small blanket or a cosy cushion at-

least adds a little comfort to an other-wise 'ass-numbing' trip.

BOTTLE;

Dehydration is a nightmare. With measures in place to stop you carrying liquids over 100ml through security it can work out pretty expensive to keep your fluids topped up whilst lying around an airport during a layover and even during the flight itself.

There is often a number of water fountains around the airport so carrying an empty water bottle in your hand-luggage gives you the great opportunity to fill up as much as you need once you're through the security barriers.

Enjoy your flight! :]

bottom of page